The Facts about Marijuana Charges in Georgia

By | April 22nd, 2016|Advice, Criminal Law, Marijuana Charges|

Possession of marijuana in Georgia remains illegal despite recent legislation regarding medicinal marijuana. Possession of less than one ounce of marijuana is considered a misdemeanor offense. However, marijuana charges can be much more serious. Such examples would be Possession of More than One Ounce, Possession of Marijuana with the Intent to Distribute, Sale of Marijuana, or Manufacturing/Growing Marijuana, all of which are felony charges. Penalties Possession of Marijuana less than one ounce is considered a misdemeanor and can be punishable by a fine of up to $1000 and 12 months in jail. Further, judges typically impose extra penalties. Some common [...]